30 In 30 – Gonzalo Higuain

Pipita rounds out my 30 Players In 30 Days Challenge.

In my opinion, Gonzalo Higuain is probably the most underrated striker in the world. An Argentinian master. He seems to be constantly in the shadow of someone, whether it’s Lionel Messi for Argentina or Cristiano Ronaldo for Real Madrid.

He, for me, is one of the most valuable assets to both club and country.

Higuain was born in France while his father played there. Jorge Higuain was actually one of Argentina’s best defenders in his time. However he left France as a baby and now hold both Argentinian and French citizenship.

He began his career in Argentina at River Plate but he signed to Real Madrid at 19 years old and has been there for the past four years. After needing back surgery last year and being out for most of the season, he has returned this season to shine under Jose Mourinho. He scored three hat tricks in a row, two for club and one for country, in October. He currently is the third highest scorer in La Liga with 12 goals in 13 league appearances.

And his touch… This is not the best example of what he can do, but his awareness to touch the ball around the keeper after completely embarrassing the defender…

I think that’s a rather good example that Gonzalo Higuain is smart, strong and fast. He is almost the perfect striker. Goes pretty well with that almost perfect booty (Oh come on… You had to know I wasn’t going to make it through without talking about Pipita’s shelf booty).

Nifty little fact: Pipita is one of only three foreign born players to ever represent Argentina in a World Cup.

He’s scored 12 goals in 22 international appearances and has wracked up 108 goals and 44 assists in a total of 230 appearances for Real Madrid. In addition he has won La Liga twice, Copa del Rey once, and Supercopa de España once with Real Madrid.

We’re not even halfway through the season and I think this is the best that Higuain has been since coming to Madrid. He is dangerous with anyone he plays with and I get a little giddy at the thought of he and Benzema playing together at the same time. No seriously, Pipita and the War Kitten… With Ozil, Ronaldo, and Kaka… Oh I wish I had those coaching problems.

I hope that this is the year I get to see Pipita (and the rest of the team) celebrate winning La Liga and Champions League like this:

3 thoughts on “30 In 30 – Gonzalo Higuain

  1. Hey,

    I just discovered your blog and I think its awesome.
    I really like Higuain and I agree I think he is highly underrated. In my opinion, I think he is a slightly better striker than Benz. Mou needs to start him over Benzema.
    What do you think about the rumors of Chelsea being interested in him?

    • I hadn’t heard that they’re interested in Gonzalo. I’ve been hearing rumors of them wanting Kaka. I don’t like either of those ideas… But I’m selfish.

      I don’t think that Mourinho (or Perez) would let Higuain go. He’s a phenomenal striker. They’d be crazy to let him go

      • I don’t think they will let him go either. But Higuain is very underpaid compared to other top strikers, perhaps the rumor is just a bargaining tool.

Leave a comment